Indians Who Has Won Noble prize Till Now

Indian Nobel prize winners

The below-mentioned are the Nobel laureates who were an Indian citizens at the point in time when they were awarded the Nobel Prize.

In 1913, Rabindranath Tagore won the Nobel Prize in the field of Literature. “Due to his profoundly sensitive, young and graceful verse, by which, with perfect skill, he has performed his poetic imagination, manifested in his own English words, a portion of the literature of the West.”

Rabindranath Tagore

In 1998, Amartya Sen won the Nobel Prize in the field of Economic Sciences. “For his contributions to welfare economics.”

Amartya Sen

In 1930, C. V. Raman won the Nobel Prize in the field of Physics. “For his effort on the scattering of light and for the results of the impact called after him.”

C. V. Raman

In 1979, Mother Teresa won the Nobel Prize for Peace. “In honor of [her] work in delivering help to distress humanity”

Mother Teresa


In 2014, Kailash Satyarthi won the Nobel Prize for Peace. “For their fight against the abolition of children and young souls and for the freedom of all children to education.”

Kailash Satyarthi

Born in India: The following Nobel laureates were born in British India or India and are of Indian origin.

In 1968, Har Gobind Khorana won the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine. His country of residence is United States(Born in Raipur, British India). “For their understanding of the genetic principles and its role in protein synthesis.”

Har Gobind Khoran

In 1983, Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar won the Nobel Prize for Physics. His country of residence is United States(Born in Lahore, British India). “For his philosophical studies of the physical methods of relevance to the formation and metamorphosis of the stars.”

Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar

In 2009, Venkatraman Ramakrishnan won the Nobel Prize for Chemistry. His country of residence is United States/United Kingdom(Born in Chidambaram, India). “For subjects of the structure and purpose of the ribosome.”

Venkatraman Ramakrishnan

In 2019, Abhijit Banerjee won the Nobel Prize for Economic Sciences. His country of residence is United States/United Kingdom(Born in Calcutta, India). “For their experimental approach to alleviating global poverty”

Abhijit Banerjee

The following are Nobel laureates with Indian linkages – immigrants who were born in India, these who are of Indian heritage and those who were citizens in India when they graced winners of the Nobel Prize.

In 1902, Ronald Ross won the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine. His country of residence is United Kingdom (Born in Almora, British India). “For his practice on malaria disease, by which he has revealed how it penetrates the organism and thereby has set the basis for strong research on this disease and methods of combating it.”

Ronald Ross

In 1907, Rudyard Kipling was also the one won the Nobel Prize in Literature. His country of residence is United Kingdom (Born in Bombay, British India). “An idea of the power of sight, the innovation of vision, the potency of methods and exceptional gift for an anecdote which explains the creations of this world-class and world-famous writer.”

Rudyard Kipling

In 1989, 14th Dalai Lama won the Nobel Prize for Peace. His country of residence is India((born in Taktser, Tibet). “For his consistent resistance to the use of violence in his people’s struggle to regain their liberty.”

14th Dalai Lama

In 2001, V. S. Naipaul won the Nobel Prize for Literature. His country of residence is United Kingdom ((Born in Chaguanas, Trinidad and Tobago). “For holding combined perceptive narrative and ethical analysis in works that constrain us to see the residence of repressed histories.”

, V. S. Naipaul


Also Read:15 Best Jobs Lazy People Can Do

Also Read: Few creative Add campaigns which caught public attention


WordPress database error: [Incorrect key file for table './yourmone_wp/wp_comments.MYI'; try to repair it]
SELECT SQL_CALC_FOUND_ROWS wp_comments.comment_ID FROM wp_comments WHERE ( comment_approved = '1' ) AND comment_post_ID = 2194 AND comment_parent = 0 ORDER BY wp_comments.comment_date_gmt ASC, wp_comments.comment_ID ASC